P2230773

 

That is that. Time to draw a line, hang up my hat, and turn the page.

I honestly never imagined that I would miss the University of Winchester. I’m pretty sure I’ve laughed at the idea several times during the past three years.

At this precise moment I feel elated, melancholy, proud, grateful, and reminiscent. The world turns, and we turn with it. Away from our former selves, and towards the days to come. But sometimes it does no harm to look back at the past.

‘It’s in vain to recall the past, unless it works some influence upon the present.’

David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

Maybe so, but what is a life besides a throne atop a vast dais of memory?

I’m less sentimental than I make out, but I’ll confess that I shed a few tears the other day. They came spilling out as though they belonged to someone else, and I was there inside myself thinking ‘what is this?’

I held it together for the final goodbye, and it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. If anything it was surreal, as endings often are.

I handed in all but one of my assignments today. I let them go like sky lanterns, and went to my last ‘class’ feeling many things at once, and subsequently, nothing at all. The gathering passed, and with it, the moment for tears. At the end of it I wished those who have been my comrades for the past three years fond farewells, and walked out forever.

Heading down into town I was biting back a smile. It was a funny, silly sort of smile that crept up my face and wouldn’t go away. There is still one last assignment to hand in, but really, that was it.

I’ve said my goodbyes. I’ve finished my degree with a feeling of victory, and now it’s time to move on. Onwards and upwards. To see new places, faces, and have some adventures in that strange, fabled place they call ‘The Real World.’

