So it’s been a month (or two), and long, long dead is my new year’s resolution to be a consistent, every-other-day posting blogger.

But I haven’t been wasting time!

Cue some self-indulgence, and welcome to my new home…

IMG_20170411_150144_edit.jpg

That’s right, followers! I left my job in England, spent the most stressful week of my life leaving my packing until the day before I went, and now I live in Paris, France, in a petite maison with an Italian student.

I find it strange and surprising that I am writing this, since somehow I never thought I would actually do it. But I have, and what follows will no doubt define the person I become.

So far I have been a tourist in the first degree. I have visited the Museé d’Orsay, walked along the Seine, accidentally gone to church at Notre Dame, visited Sacré-Cœur and the Palais Garnier, and stuffed my head full of so many pictures and experiences that I have had to start writing again.

And finally, finally, finally, I have done some writing that isn’t about myself, or a scribbled down poem.

IMG_20170412_163016_hdr.jpg

I even have a new favourite haunt (if you’ll pardon the pun!), which is the Cimetière du Père-Lachaise. In crumbling graves and the summer sun my muse has returned to me, after such a long time, and I really do think I am going to crack it this time.

This time next year, I will have a novel to publish, so let the hard work begin!

And that’s not the only job to be done, since I am employed, and I start tomorrow. Having forgotten what a challenge it is to work with children, I have slipped back into childcare, but who can have regrets in Paris? Not I (yet, anyway).

I think that counts for an update, so I’ll leave it there, and promise (this time for real) to keep writing, and putting things out there in the world for people to read.

À bientôt, mes amies! 

