Progress is slow for me at the moment. I’ve been doing quite well with regular blogging, but my novel is moving forward with all the speed of a legless zombie in the mud (I’ve been watching too much of The Walking Dead).

I had a new idea, for a short story, however, so I’m going to have a stab at that tomorrow on the coach home.

I’ll go in armed with a few new tunes for inspiration, and here they are.

1. Allie X – Paper Love

A super-catchy, zesty piece. I think it makes an ideal soundtrack for badass ladykillers, or badass killers, doing what they do best.

2. Rebecca Ferguson – We’ll Be Fine

Considering what an amazing voice this woman has, she is so underrated. You can find both jazz and pop in her albums. Often her songs have a mellow quality, but this is among her more energetic pieces. I find it very uplifting.

3. Porter Robinson & Madeon – Shelter

Given the monster view count on the official video of this song, I think most people have heard this one, but sometimes the mainstream isn’t all about the money, and jewels break through the surface of mediocrity to be recognised. The official video is also a real treat, if you like having your heart broken.

4. Kronic (Feat. Leon Thomas) – Rendevouz

I’ve had this song on repeat for two days, so it would be unfair to keep it to myself. I really wish I knew places where music like this was played, because this is one for dancing. I’ve been using it to imagine chase and fight scenes.

It’s time I went and packed, but hopefully I’ll soon have a story to share. I’ll keep you posted!

